Microsoft Delve

What is it?

Delve is a file hub, collaboration space and enterprise social network that is included as part of Microsoft 365 (M365).

  • Delve allows you to search across all your M365 applications for documents, highlights the documents you have recently worked on and shows you the documents that have been shared with you by others.

  • It can be used for search by people you are collaborating with, (or to find someone appropriate to do so) and allows you to view what they have been working on from the documents shared between you.

  • You have your own profile in Delve, which you can populate with an avatar and information about yourself and your work. This is viewable by your colleagues.

  • It can be accessed via Office.com or via the mobile app, (there is no desktop app).

Please note: If you do not wish your documents to be shown in Delve you can turn this off. Others will still be able to find your documents in Microsoft 365, if they have access to them. They will just no longer show up on your Delve profile.

Use Delve to manage your Microsoft 365 profile

Staff can update the following sections of their profile directly in Delve:

  • About Me
  • Projects
  • Skills and experience
  • Schools and education
  • Interests and hobbies

Contact information section:

  • Your name and email address filter through from your account and cannot be changed.

  • Your job title filters through from the People and Organisational Development system, ResourceLink and from the staff Online Directory. You can update your job title in the Online Directory, and this will filter through to Delve. However, please note that any change to your record in ResourceLink could cause this value to be overwritten. It is therefore best to ensure People and Organisational Development have your correct job title.

  • You can update your work phone number and location within the Online Directory, and they will flow through to your Microsoft Profile.

Photo:

  • You can add your own photo/avatar within Delve.

Permissions:

Delve never changes any permissions, so you will only see documents that you already have access to. Colleagues will not be able to see your private documents.

What can you see?

  • Open site information (this is visible to everyone).
  • Documents previously shared with you, either personally or as part of a wider group.
  • Content stored in Teams folders that you have access to.

You can see who has access to view a document (and understand why you can see it) by clicking on the three dots at the bottom right of each document and selecting ‘who can see this?’

Support

Instructions for staff and postgraduate research students on how to install Microsoft 365 are available here:

Delve offers self-service support. To find out more about the most common topics and features visit the Microsoft Support Centre.

Learning about Delve

To learn the basics and familiarise yourself with Delve, please:

Information handling

Continue to adhere to the Information Governance Office Best practice guidance on sharing and storing information and Records Retention Schedule whenever you’re working with data.

Need help on information handling? Contact your Information Governance Guardian.