IT Services


Email phishing

What is phishing?

Phishing is an email that tries to trick you in to giving out personal information, or visiting fake websites. Responding to a phishing attack can:

  • Release your personal details to someone who may use them fraudulently
  • Encrypt your files and folders, demanding that a 'ransom' fee be paid to revert the damage
  • Stop your computer from working completely

People who engineer phishing scams are criminals and hackers. Watch the video on this page to learn more.

Take the online phishing awareness course

The University has a short online course to help you identify these types of emails. The course takes fewer than 15 minutes to complete and is available to all staff and students via Blackboard.

Key check points

  1. Is the sender of the email someone you know?
  2. Does the URL it contains look legitimate ? (Hover your mouse to check)
  3. Were you expecting an attachment?

Help!

If you think you’re a victim of a phishing email, or that your PC has become infected, telephone us immediately on 0161 306 5544.

If you receive a suspicious email, do not click on any links and do not reply, but you should let us know by sending us the phishing email as an attachment:

Option 1: Using Microsoft Outlook 2010

  1. Select the junk email message
  2. Click “More” (next to the “Forward” button) and select “Forward as attachment”
  3. In the new message window that pops up, send the email to phishing@listserv.manchester.ac.uk.

Option 2: Using Outlook Web App

  1. Right-click (or Ctrl+click on a Mac) on the junk email message
  2. Click "Forward as attachment"
  3. In the new message window that pops up, send the email to phishing@listserv.manchester.ac.uk.

You don't need to explain why you've sent the message. Everything we need to know will be in that attachment.

Never reply to suspected junk email, click any links or open any associated attachments (as these more than likely will contain viruses). Replying or clicking an 'unsubscribe' link could confirm to the sender that your email is in use and they will send you more. The only way to be completely safe is to delete any suspect messages.